Artist: Deepgroove
Title: We Came Here To Dance / The White Isle
Label: Cuba Recordings
By: Simon Jones | 13 August 2004
  • A1: We Came Here To Dance
  • A2: White Sands Tool 1
  • A3: White Sands Tool 2
  • A4: White Sands Tool 3
  • B1: The White Isle
  • B2: End Of Night Speech
  • B3: Sonic Wooshes
  • B4: Tools 1
  • B5: Tools 2
  • B6: Tools 3

Deepgroove "We Came Here To Dance / The White Isle"

Out Now on Cuba Recordings

Having developed their skills and DJs as producers over the last few years, most notably as part of the team behind the legendary Lakota nightclub in Bristol, England, the duo of Lee Pattison and Grayson Shipley have slowly been amassing a following, thanks largely to their unique 4-decks and fx live shows. In addition to this they have collaborated with Tony Thomas and D Ramirez, in addition to racking up an impressive number of releases on labels such as Distraektions Ltd, Kinky Vinyl. Their first release on Cuba though, is perhaps their best yet.

'We Came Here To Dance' should perhaps be entitled 'You Came Here To Dance' as you can bet that by the time this track has finished, that's exactly what you will have been doing. Rugged grooves, rapid percussion and a serious bassline are all that are needed as Deepgroove tear the dancefloor a new orifice. A floaty break with uplifting keys gives little respite as the pounding grooveathon continues until the very last bit. They came to dance, and so will you.

The flip keeps the grooves flowing with 'The White Isle' taking us on a sun drenched excursion through house. Big pads, swaying string lines and a stirring vocal provided by Scandinavian singer Amie Karlsson are underpinned but an upbeat throbbing bassline, with a classic house vibe in the vein of Groove Armada's excellent 'At The River' holding it all together perfectly.

And then there's the DJ tools. Be it the Stephen Hawking style End Of Night Speech, the White Isle Tools or the crazy spacey fx tools, this 12" is like a veritable tool box due to the sheer number of extras it has, and this, coupled with the two addictive tracks that are it's main focus make this record deserving of a position in your record box, so be sure to make sure it gets there.

Music Reviews -more-