Artist: Hyper
Title: Bedrock Breaks: Fractured
Label: Bedrock Breaks
By: Simon Jones | 20 February 2003
  1. Momu - Sunsicle
  2. Terminalhead - Head Down
  3. Kemek The Dope Computer - Let Yourself Go
  4. Semi Detached - Who Da Fuck (False Prophet Mix)
  5. Spork - Freeek Like Me
  6. Stir Fry - Freestyle Flow
  7. Meat Katie & Christian J - Cusp
  8. Uberzone & Rennie Pilgrem - Cous Cous (Royale Mix)
  9. Oakenfold - Starry Eyed Surprise (Stir Fry Vocal)
  10. Hyper - Catnip
  11. PMT - Insinuendo (Principled Dub Mix)
  12. Timo Maas - Der Schieber (Funkin For Hope In New York Mix)

Hyper "Bedrock Breaks: Fractured"

Out Now on Bedrock Breaks

Guy Hatfield has been an integral part of Bedrock's night at Heaven, London for several years, fusing his combination of breaks and house together month in month out, gathering a following of fans. He was also responsible for the initial concept of Distinctive's 'Y3K' series, before moving on to develop his own Kilowatt imprint, and embark upon a series of mix albums for Bedrock. Now in 2003, we see Bedrock fully devote to breakbeat with a dedicated Bedrock Breaks label having recently launched, and Hyper himself currently hard at work on his debut artist album. He still however, has found time to follow up his first Bedrock Breaks album with 'Fractured', a slightly different side of Hyper, where he has truely experimented, re-editing tracks, slipping in loops, changing tempos and much more. It all adds up to a no nonsense listening experience which you should approach with an open mind. Read on to find out why.

Hyper eases us gently into the first disc, as the soft melody of Momu's 'Sunsicle' emits both warmth and emotion that carries over nicely into the piano of 'Head Down' by Terminalhead. However, things don't stick to this mellow mood for long as the freestyle rap drops itself over the funky breaks, setting the template for what is to come. Shifting through the deep bass effected beats laid down by Kemek The Dope Computer, the beats march onward as Semi Detached's 'Who Da Fuck' lets it's presence be known, in glorious remix format courtesy of the consistent False Prophet.

The centre of the disc features the hugely popular 'Freeek Like Me' by Spork, before a change of pace is instigated by tracks from Stir Fry, as well as Meat Katie and Christian J teaming up for the experimental breaks of 'Cusp'. People may be alarmed as a track by Paul Oakenfold finds it's way into the mix, but this Stir Fry mix of 'Starry Eyed Surprise' is not to be sniffed at as it does the business as well as any other track on the disc. The loud and lairy beats of Hyper's forthcoming 'Catnip' make for some heads down no nonsense jigging towards the end of the disc, as support from PMT sees things slowly recline before the classic 'Der Schieber' by Timo Maas ensures your attention is strapped into place ready for the next 70+ minutes of aural mindf*cking.

Slowly teasing us into the second disc, the harmonious vocals of Jo Morgan ride over the deep beats of PFN's 'Beautiful Day'. Disuye's own Dan F keeps things moving forward with assistance from Soul Of Man bringing up the behind. It's all coming together nicely as the fathers of Berlin's Love Parade, Dr Motte & Westbam drop an electro breaks rework of 'Sunshine' into the mix, which builds nicely into the rolling b-line and funky breaks of 'Rollin and Controllin', a brand new track from Force Mass Motion and Dylan Rhymes under their Silencer guise.

This is the moment the mix takes a twist in in tempo and we find ourselves treated to full on drum mayhem from General Midi, and spacial downtempo style breaks from Stisch with the superb 'Poolswinger'. Things get a little disjointed as the BLIM remix of 'Music Takes You' by Blame drives through the speakers, with Hyper quickly working his another new cut, 'Slapper' into the mix, it's funky edged bassline and live sounds adding yet another dimension of depth to the disc, as it heads for the finish line with the the guitar fuelled breaks of Ils 'Music', climaxing with a track from Bedrock's own Nick Muir alongside Jon Gray as Fatliners, with the track 'Flying' featuring Terminalhead's Spee bringing Fractured to a halt like a rumbling avalanche.

In comparison to the first Bedrock Breaks album this is a vast improvement as Hyper has let the tracks fall into place and then edited them where need be to create a unique, different listening experience, which, whilst not the most groundbreaking of breakbeat mixes, certainly has it's moments and is worth a listen for it's feel good factor. Curious breaksheads should check this out.

Music Reviews -more-